Department of Classical Studies

Classical Studies Faculty

The Department is located on the 1st floor of the Moore Humanities and Research Administration Building (MHRA) at the corner of Spring Garden and Forest Streets. Our corridor is immediately on the left (and partially hidden by a column!) as you come in the front entrance.

Click on faculty names or pictures for more information.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Maura Heyn

Maura K. Heyn
~ Associate Professor (Roman art & archaeology)
Office: 1109 MHRA

Joanne Murphy

Joanne M. Murphy
~ Assistant Professor (Aegean archaeology, Archaeological Methods and Theory)
Office: 1112 MHRA

Hugh Parker

Hugh C. Parker
~ Associate Professor (Latin poetry, Medieval Latin)
Office: 1103 MHRA
Department Head

Susan Shelmerdine

Susan C. Shelmerdine
~ Professor (Greek & Latin pedagogy, Greek poetry)
Office: 1111 MHRA

Jeff Soles

Jeffrey S. Soles
~ Professor (Greek archaeology)
Office: 1107 MHRA
on Phased Retirement - teaching in Spring 2014 only

Dave Wharton

David B. Wharton
~ Associate Professor (Linguistics, Latin poetry)
Office: 1115 MHRA

Jonathan Zarecki

Jonathan P. Zarecki
~ Associate Professor (Roman history, Republican literature)
Office: 1113 MHRA

Visiting Faculty

Pablo Molina

Pablo Molina
~ Lecturer (Early Christianity, Roman history & Late Antiquity)
Office: 1108 MHRA

Bob Simmons

Robert Holschuh Simmons
~ Visiting Assistant Professor (Greek drama, Cultural poetics)
Office: 1110 MHRA


Shannon Byers
~ Administrative Liaison to the Modern World and Head Wrangler
Office: 1105 Moore Humanities & Research Administration Bldg.