Past News

Melissa Elmes, PhD candidate, has been selected as the 2014-2015 recipient of the Department's Cloninger-Stout Award.

Tristan Munchel and Holly Setzer have been awarded Student Excellence Awards. They'll be honored, with other students receiving various awards and recognitions, at the 52nd Student Honors Convocation on Tuesday, April 29, starting at 7 pm in the EUC Auditorium.

Kathleen Fowler, current Graduate student, has been selected by the National Endowment for the Humanities to participate in one of their summer institutes at Oxford University, "Representations of the 'Other': Jews in Medieval England.” For more information visit

Maria Sanchez has been selected to be a Hutchins Fellow at Harvard's W. E. B. Du Bois Research Institute at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research for the academic year 2014-2015.  

Christian Moraru has been awarded a Fulbright Specialist Assignment in The Netherlands for May 2014. He'll be lecturing and leading workshops at a number of Dutch universities.

Noelle Morrissette will hold a Lillian Gary Taylor Visiting Fellowship in American Literature from the University of Virginia Library's Harrison Institute for American History, Literature, and Culture in Summer 2014, to work on her book project, "Anne Spencer: Letters and Legacy."

Brenta Blevins, PhD candidate, will receive the College of Arts and Sciences Junior award for Outstanding Graduate Assistant Teaching.

Prof. Karen Kilcup selected as Linda Arnold Carlisle Distinguished Excellence Professor in Women and Gender Studies for 2014-2018. More information can be found here.

Jim Clark, Director of the MFA Creative Writing Program, chosen to receive Gladys Strawn Bullard Award. The Gladys Strawn Bullard Awards were established to recognize and reward members of the student body, faculty and staff of UNCG who provide outstanding leadership and service to the university.

Dr. Joe George, PhD '13, wins UNCG Outstanding Dissertation Award. His dissertation, "Neighborhood Associations: Security and Hospitality in American Suburban Fiction," was directed by Christian Moraru; Scott Romine and Anthony Cuda served as committee members.

Ansel Elkins, MFA '09 Graduate, to receive 2014 Yale Series of Younger Poets Award. Read more here.

Dr. Kim Reigle, PhD '10, awarded 2014 Lindsay Young Regional Visiting Faculty Fellowship at the Marco Institute of the University of Tennessee. Kim's research project is titled: "Defensive Virginity in Early Modern English Literature". More information about the fellowship can be found here.

The Digital Temple, Prof. Chris Hodgkins co-edited with Prof. Robert Whalen, named a Choice Outstanding Academic Title of 2013.

Fred Chappell, Professor Emeritus of English, selected as the 2013 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient presented by The Western North Carolina Historical Association and the Asheville History Center.

Moussa Issifou, 2012 Doctoral Graduate, was published in the October issue of The Journal of Pan African Studie. His article is titled, "Beyond the Language Debate in Postcolonial Literature: Linguistic Hybridity in Kojo B. Laing's Woman of the Aeroplanes."

Michelle Dowd, with co-editor Thomas Festa, wins 2013 Award for Best Teaching Edition from the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women for Early Modern Women on the Fall: An Anthology.

Brenta Blevins, Ph.D. candidate, selected as a Fellow for the Digital Rhetoric Collaborative through the University of Michigan Sweetland Center for Writing.

Lauren Shook, Ph.D. candidate in Renaissance/Early Modern literature, selected as participant in the Folger Institute colloquium “Constructing and Representing Authorship in Early Modern England.

Stuart Dischell, Professor of Poetry, begins two years as Class of 1952 Distinguished Professor, plans Randall Jarrell lecture series.

Andrew Pisano, Ph.D. candidate in American literature, awarded 2013-14 Mildred Kates Dissertation Fellowship.

Holly Goddard Jones, Assistant Professor of Fiction, selected as Bernard-Glickman Dean's Professor for 2013-14.

Ben Clarke, Assistant Professor of Post-1900 British Literature, and Michelle Dowd, Associate Professor of Renaissance/Early Modern Literature, receive Marc Friedlaender Faculty Excellence Awards for 2013-14.

Facebook Twitter
Connect with us!