School of Health and Human Sciences    facebook  

School of Health and Human Sciences Scholarships/Fellowships/Program Awards

Awards and Scholarships for the Department of Social Work

Awards luncheon: provost Perin and Dr Bob Wineburg from SWK

Mereb Mossman and Virginia Stephens Scholarship Fund in Social Work

This award honors Mereb Mossman, who founded the Social Work Program and to honor Virginia Stephens upon her retirement. This fund supports undergraduate students in the Department of Social Work, especially nontraditional students who are rising seniors who exhibit academic merit.

Thomas B. Scullion International Program Award

This program was established in 2000 with a gift from Dr. and Mrs. Thomas B. Scullion, his friends and colleagues. Dr. Scullion was Chair of the Social Work Department and co-planned the Joint Master of Social Work degree with NC A & T University. He was instrumental in forming a relationship between UNCG and Strathclyde University in Scotland. This fund supports participation in international exchange programs with the Department of Social Work.

Lyda Gordon Shivers scholarship award

This award was established in 1972 as a memorial tribute to Dr. Shivers, a longtime faculty member in the Department of Sociology. The scholarship is awarded annually to an undergraduate student alternating between Social Work and Sociology.

Dorothy and Ike Stern and Saretta and Hyman Ruskin Memorial Scholarship

This award was established by Dr. Jerry and Marnie Ruskin to honor their parents. Marnie Ruskin received her BS in Social Work in 1986. The award supports an undergraduate student in the Department of Social Work emphasizing the study of gerontology.

Bob Wineburg Endowed Scholarship in Community Services

This award was established by Stacy Galligan Vogel in celebration of Dr. Robert J. Wineburg's 25th year educating social workers and impacting communities around the nation. Students in the Department of Social Work are eligible for this award. Preference is given to nontraditional students interested in community service.