Learn about the past. Prepare for your future.
Old World Map background

NEWS & EVENTS

Upcoming Events

Important Dates

  • Wednesday, Jan. 27: Islamic Studies Research Network Panel (see below)
  • Friday, Jan. 29: Final deadline for undergraduates to apply to graduate in May 2016.
  • Monday, Feb. 1: Deadline for Fall 2016 History M.A. applications.
  • Friday, Mar. 4: Last day to withdraw from a class without incurring a WF grade.
  • Monday, Mar. 7 - Friday, Mar. 11: Spring Break. Classes dismissed, offices open.
  • Friday, Mar. 18: History graduate student language proficiency exams.
  • Friday, Mar. 25: Spring holiday. Classes dismissed, offices closed.
  • Mar. 28-Apr. 20: Fall 2016 registration for continuing students
  • Friday, Apr. 1: M.A. comprehensive exams.
  • Tuesday, Apr. 26: Last day of classes. University follows Friday schedule.
  • Wednesday, Apr. 27: Reading Day.
  • Apr. 28-30, May 2-4: Final Exams
  • Thursday, May 5: History Recognition Ceremony
  • Friday, May 6: University Commencement, Greensboro Coliseum
  • Thursday, May 12: Summer Session I classes begin
  • Thursday, June 16: Summer Session II classes begin


TRADE IN THE WIDER ISLAMIC INDIAN OCEAN WORLD: From Fatimid Egypt to India's Deccan

Wednesday, January 27
EUC Dogwood Room
4:30-5:30

The Islamic Studies Research Network is proud to present our first event of the Spring Semester: TRADE IN THE WIDER ISLAMIC INDIAN OCEAN WORLD: From Fatimid Egypt to India's Deccan

Presentations and discussion by:

  • Dr. Omar Ali (African American and African Diaspora Studies, History, UNCG) on his new book: Islam in the Indian Ocean World: A Brief History with Documents (Boston, MA: Bedford St. Martin’s Press, 2016)
  • Eric Johnson (Senior, History, UNCG) on his senior capstone HIS 511c paper: "Textiles and Capitalism in the Fatimid Era"
  • Carley Burroughs (Senior, History, UNCG) on her senior capstone HIS 511 paper: "Medieval Egypt: Merchants and the Mamluk Regime"
  • Islamic Studies Research Network at UNCG, co-sponsored by Lloyd International Honors College, the Muslim Student Association, and Special Grant from the Kohler Fund of the International Programs Center

    Contact: Dr. Ali at ohali@uncg.edu

    http://isrn.uncg.edu/index.html


CAS home banner
Giving Banner
Facebook
Connect with us!