Learn about the past. Prepare for your future.
Old World Map background


History Major Advising Center

The History Department Advising Center is now open. History faculty will help you plan your class schedule and give you your advising code for spring and summer 2016.

When? Monday, October 19-Friday, November 6. See the schedule below
No appointment is necessary. First come, first served.
Come early in the advising period to get the classes you need and want.

Where? MHRA #2120, opposite the History Department offices.

Why? All history majors must attend the Advising Center in person every semester. We do not give advising codes via email or phone.

Be Prepared! Six Steps to a Great Advising Appointment

  1. Know if you should use Degree Evaluation or Degree Works.* Use the right one to make sure you have the correct information!
  2. Carefully review your most recent Degree Evaluation or Degree Works* on UNCGenie and identify the requirements you still have pending for graduation. You may also find it helpful to review the requirements for a history major.
  3. Browse the summer and spring course offerings and make a tentative list of courses that will help you meet your pending requirements and also spark your interests.
  4. Make a list of any questions you have.
  5. Read your UNCG Email to find out when your registration window opens.
  6. Bring your lists of courses and questions to the Advising Center.

*Students who are Catalogue Term fall 2014 or later must use Degree Works.
Students who are Catalogue Term summer 2014 or earlier use Degree Evaluation.
Your Catalogue Term is the date you entered UNCG. If you took a semester or more off, your Catalogue Term is the most recent semester you re-entered UNCG.

The Advising Center Schedule (MHRA 2120):

For Spring and Summer 2016 Registration

Monday October 19 8 am to 4 pm
Tuesday October 20 9 am to 3 pm
Wednesday October 21 10 am to 2 pm
Thursday October 22 1 pm to 5 pm
Friday October 23 10 am to 2 pm
Monday October 26 10 am to 2 pm
Tuesday October 27 9 am to 3 pm
Wednesday October 28 12 noon to 4 pm
Thursday October 29 1 pm to 6 pm
Tuesday November 3 9 am to 1 pm
Wednesday November 4 12 noon to 4 pm
Thursday November 5 11 am to 3 pm
Friday November 6 10 am to 2 pm

Dr. Linda Rupert
Director of Undergraduate Studies
2105 Moore Humanities and Research Administration Building

CAS home banner
Giving Banner
Connect with us!