Recent News

CONGRATULATIONS to Dr. David Holian for being selected to receive the senior faculty Teaching Excellence Award of the College of Arts and Sciences this year. This prestigious award is given annually to faculty by nomination to recognize dedication to our students and achieving success inside and outside the classroom.

Reaccreditation News

Our MPA program has been fully reaccredited by NASPAA (Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs and Administration) for seven years, as of July 2014. This reaccreditation affirms the quality of our program, our faculty and our students.

CONGRATULATIONS to Price Felker and Malbert Smith who won the Student Excellence Award. This is UNCG's highest academic honor for undergraduates!

CONGRATULATIONS to Melissa Midget, PSC Alumnus ('01), who won the 2014 Young Democrats of North Carolina Public Service Award!

Congratulations to the Summer 2015 MPA and Nonprofit Management Certificate Students!!

The Summer 2015 MPA Graduates are: Rachael Burrello and Kevin Jacobs!

The Summer 2015 Nonprofit Management Certificate Graduates are: Tana Barnes, Rochelle Blakeney, Medina Jolly, Julie Ann Morrill, Casey Starkweather and Ashley Watkins!

The Summer 2015 Urban and Economic Development Certificate Graduate is: Ryan Byers!

CONGRATULATIONS to all of you!!!

Online Nonprofit Management Certificate Program Starting Its Fourth Year!

Students can complete the entire program of 15 credits online within one year, or take some or all courses on campus. Financial Aid is an option. For the curriculum details and application information, go to

Congratulations to the MPA Student Award Winners for 2014-2015

  • North Carolina City/County Managers Association Scholarship - Hunter Frank
  • Next Generation Graduate Award - Tahja Gaymon, Sara Pilling Kellogg, Katrina Wade
  • Cemala Scholarship Fellow - Brianna Salamone
  • Graduate Dean's Scholarship Award - Brikena Berisha, Rachael Burrello, Catherine Casteel, Kimberly Cothran, Sara Hancock, Nicole Lindahl, Maggie Robertson, Katrina Wade, Brandie Williams
  • May Davidson Scholarship Fund - Helena Burnett, Adrienne Fuller, Keyshia Haithcock, Kevin Jacobs, Yalonda Miller Galloway, Sarah McGuire, Lana Skrypnk, Megan Walley, Allison Wray

Congratulations to Student Award Winners for 2015-2016

  • Political Science Outstanding Student - Simone Cappati
  • Annie Moring Alexander Scholarship Recipient - Jason Robertson, Taylor Allen, Mark Parent, Rachel Blackburn
  • May Davidson Scholarship Recipients - Marian Burroughs, Zandra Cuff, Greyden Toone, Kaitlin Ayers, Andrea Pascal, Carlee Taber