University Registrar's Office

Fall 2005 Academic Calendar

Printer-friendly version of this pagePRINT THIS
You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this file.

August 9, Tuesday Fall semester opens
August 9, Tuesday Undergraduate academic suspension appeals deadline
August 9–13,
Orientation, Advising, Registration for all students based on student population and classification
August 10, Wednesday State of the Campus Address and Faculty Convocation
August 11, Thursday Orientation for new graduate students
August 15, Monday Classes begin, 8:00 A.M.
August 15–19,
Late registration and schedule adjustment
August 19, Friday Last day to change courses or course sections without special permission
August 19, Friday Last day to drop course for tuition and fees refund
August 19, Friday Financial Aid satisfactory academic progress appeals deadline
August 22, Monday Deadline for graduate students to apply to graduate in December 2005
September 1–30 Undergraduate students planning to either declare or change majors should do so during this time.
September 5, Monday Labor Day holiday. Classes dismissed; offices closed.
September 12, Monday Deadline for undergraduates to apply to graduate in December 2005
September 23, Friday Six weeks progress reports due in University Registrar's Office
October 3, Monday Founders Day
October 7, Friday Instruction ends for Fall Break, 6:00 P.M.
October 7, Friday Last day to drop courses without academic penalty
October 12, Wednesday Classes resume after Fall Break, 8:00 A.M.
Oct. 12–Nov. 11,
Spring semester advising for continuing students, by appointment
Oct. 26–Nov. 11,
Spring 2006 registration for continuing students
October 28, Friday Final date for December doctoral candidates oral examinations
November 11, Friday Filing deadline for one signed copy of dissertation, The Graduate School
November 22, Tuesday Instruction ends for Thanksgiving holiday, 10:00 P.M.
November 28, Monday Classes resume, 8:00 A.M.
November 28, Monday Filing deadline for one copy of thesis, The Graduate School
December 5, Monday Last day of classes
December 6, Tuesday Final date for complete clearance of December graduate degree candidates
December 6, Tuesday Reading Day
December 7–9, 12–14,
Wed.–Fri., Mon.–Wed.
Final examinations
December 10, Saturday Tentative official final exam makeup day
December 15, Thursday December Commencement, Greensboro Coliseum
December 16, Friday Tentative official final exam makeup day

Approved by the Chancellor 02.25.03