University Registrar's Office

Spring 2000 Academic Calendar

January 5, Wednesday Undergraduate academic suspension appeals deadline
January 5-8, Wednesday–Saturday Orientation, advising and registration for all students based on student population and classification
January 10, Monday Classes begin (8:00 a.m.)
January 10–14, Monday–Friday Late Registration and Schedule Adjustment
January 14, Friday Deadline for undergraduate students to apply to graduate in May 2000
January 14, Friday Last day to change courses or course sections without special permission
January 14, Friday Financial Aid satisfactory academic progress appeals deadline
January 17, Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. Classes dismissed; offices closed
January 18, Tuesday Last day to drop a course(s) and be entitled to a refund of tuition and fees
January 18, Tuesday Deadline for graduate students to apply to graduate in May 2000
February 7–28 Undergraduate students planning to declare a major or change their major should do so during February
February 15, Tuesday Deadline for undergraduate students to apply to student teach during 2000–01
February 21, Monday Six weeks unsatisfactory progress reports due in University Registrar's Office
February 26, Saturday Instruction ends for Spring Break (1:00 p.m.)
March 1, Wednesday Financial aid priority filing date for 2000–01 academic year
March 6, Monday Classes resume following Spring Break (8:00 a.m.)
March 8, Wednesday Last day to drop course(s) without academic penalty
March 22, Wednesday Final date for oral examinations for May doctoral candidates
March 30–April 13, Thursday–Thursday Summer and/or Fall Semester advising for continuing undergraduate students in major departments, by appointment
*April 1–14, Saturday–Friday Registration for continuing students for Summer and/or Fall Semester
April 5, Wednesday Deadline for filing one signed copy of dissertation in the Graduate Office
April 18, Tuesday Deadline for filing one copy of thesis in the Graduate School Office
April 21, Friday Spring Holiday. Classes dismissed; offices closed
May 2, Tuesday Last day of classes
May 3, Wednesday Final date for complete clearance of May candidates for graduate degrees
May 3, Wednesday Reading Day
May 4–6, Thursday–Saturday;
and May 8–10, Monday–Wednesday
May 14, Sunday Commencement (Mother's Day)

* amended 09-29-99, Academic Policies Committee and the Chancellor