University Registrar's Office

Spring 2015 Academic Calendar

January 5–9, Mon.–Fri. Orientation, advising, and registration for all students based on student population and classification
January 6, Tuesday Undergraduate academic appeals deadline
January 12, Monday Classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
January 12–16, Mon.–Fri. Late registration and schedule adjustment
January 16, Friday Financial Aid satisfactory academic progress appeals deadline; hours locked for financial aid purposes.
January 16, Friday Last day to change courses or course sections without special permission
January 16, Friday Last day to drop a course for tuition and fees refund
January 19, Monday Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. holiday. Classes dismissed; offices closed.
January 20, Tuesday Deadline for graduate students to apply to graduate in May 2015
January 30, Friday Final deadline for undergraduates to apply to graduate in May 2015
February 1–28 Undergraduate students declare or change major in February.
February 13, Friday Deadline for undergraduates to apply to student teach during Spring 2016
March 1, Sunday Financial aid priority filing date for 2015–16 academic year
March 6, Friday Last day to drop course without academic penalty
March 7, Saturday Instruction ends for Spring Break, 1:00 p.m.
March 16, Monday Classes resume after Spring Break, 8:00 a.m.
Mar. 16–Apr. 22, Mon.–Wed. Fall advising for continuing students, by appointment
March 18, Wednesday Final date for May doctoral candidates' oral examinations
March 25, Wednesday Deadline for filing dissertation and original signature pages with the Graduate School
Mar. 30–Apr. 22, Mon.–Wed. Fall 2015 registration for continuing students
April 3, Friday Spring holiday. Classes dismissed; offices closed.
April 7, Tuesday Deadline for filing thesis with the Graduate School
April 10, Friday Student Excellence Day
April 28, Tuesday University follows Friday schedule; last day of classes.
April 29, Wednesday Final date for complete clearance of May candidates for graduate degrees. Deadline for final submission of thesis or dissertation to the Graduate School.
April 29, Wednesday Reading Day
April 30–May 2, May 4–6, Thurs.–Sat., Mon.–Wed. Final examinations
May 8, Friday May Commencement, Greensboro Coliseum

Approved by the Faculty Senate 3.6.13. Approved by the Chancellor 3.28.13. Amended 10.11.13.

Note: The university allows for a limited number of excused absences for religious observances required by the faith of the student. Beyond the minimum terms and limits of this policy, instructors maintain authority to establish and enforce this policy for the courses they teach. For the complete policy, see the Class Attendance topic in the Academic Regulations & Policies section of the Undergraduate Bulletin.

See Parts of Term calendar for registration and grading dates.