Return to 2008-09 UGB Menu

Weatherspoon Art Museum

(Anne and Benjamin Cone Building)

The Weatherspoon Art Museum, UNCG’s contemporary art museum, is nationally known for its significant collections and dynamic exhibition program. Following its mission, the museum acquires, preserves, exhibits, and interprets modern and contemporary art for the benefit of its multiple audiences, including campus, community, region, and beyond. Through these activities, the museum recognizes its paramount role of public service, and enriches the lives of diverse individuals by fostering an informed appreciation and understanding of the visual arts and their relationship to the world in which we live.

Founded in 1941, the museum is named for Elizabeth McIver Weatherspoon, a member of the first Department of Art who taught art education for more than 30 years, and sister of Charles Duncan McIver, the first president of Woman’s College, later to become UNCG. The Weatherspoon earned accreditation from the American Association of Museums in 1995 and was reaccredited in 2005.

The Weatherspoon is located on the UNCG campus in the award-winning Anne and Benjamin Cone Building at the corner of Spring Garden and Tate Streets. Six galleries, a sculpture courtyard, and the atrium feature twenty or more exhibitions annually, offering students, faculty, and the public opportunities to see and learn directly from significant examples of modern and contemporary art. The Weatherspoon offers regular tours and educational programs that include lectures and gallery talks by visiting artists, scholars, and critics; panel discussions; film and video series; and other after hours events.

The Weatherspoon Art Museum has focused on building a permanent collection of modern and contemporary American art, acquiring significant and innovative works of the time. The collection now numbers 5,600 works of art that represent all major art movements from the 20th century to the present. Willem de Kooning, Robert Rauschenberg, Louise Bourgeois, Alexander Calder, Cindy Sherman, Louise Nevelson, and Andy Warhol are just a few of the major artists represented. Other highlights include the Dillard Collection of Art on Paper; the Etta and Claribel Cone Collection, which includes prints and bronzes by Henri Matisse and other European and American modernists; and the Lenoir C. Wright Collection of Japanese Prints. Acquisition endowment funds enable the museum to purchase works for the collection on an ongoing basis.

University students can participate in the museum docent program and other volunteer opportunities. Student membership in the museum is $25 per year and provides a number of benefits including exhibition announcements; a subscription to the quarterly newsletter, ARTicles; and invitations to the Members’ Night reception, the Art on Paper preview party, and other special members’ events. Admission is free and open to the public. The Museum is wheelchair accessible. Hours are Tuesday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; closed Mondays, Thursday 10 a.m. to 9 p.m., and Saturday and Sunday, 1 to 5 p.m. For further information, call 336/334-5770 or visit the Web site at: