University Registrar's Office

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
One Hundred and Eighth
May Commencement
May 14, 2000

Program of Events


The University Commencement Band
John R. Locke and Nicholas V. Holland, III, Conductors

The University Commencement Chorus
William P. Carroll, Richard Cox, and
Maribeth Yoder-White, Conductors

Crown Imperial
(Coronation March, 1937)
William Walton, composer
The University Commencement Band
John R. Locke, Conductor

Faculty Marshal and Mace Bearer
Robert M. Calhoon, Professor, Department of History

Audrey F. Womack, Interim Minister for UNCG Baptist Student Union

The Star Spangled Banner
Francis Scott Key, composer
Audience Participation
The University Commencement Band and Chorus

Greetings from the Faculty and Introduction of the Chancellor
Mariana Newton, Chair, Faculty Senate
and Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Welcome and Introduction of the Platform Party
Patricia A. Sullivan, Chancellor

Greetings from The University of North Carolina
Molly C. Broad, President, The University of North Carolina

Greetings from The UNC Board of Governors
Jim W. Phillips, Jr., Board of Governors, The University of North Carolina

Greetings from the UNCG Alumni Association
Judge A. Elizabeth Keever, '72, President, UNCG Alumni Association

Greetings from the Class of 2000
Shaneeka T. Moore
Speaker for the Class of 2000


America, the Beautiful
Samuel A. Ward, composer
The University Commencement Band and Chorus
John R. Locke, Conductor

Introduction of the Commencement Speaker
Patricia A. Sullivan

Commencement Address
Erskine B. Bowles, former White House Chief of Staff

Authorization for the Conferring of Degrees
Betty C. Ervin, Chair, UNCG Board of Trustees

Conferring of Degrees
Patricia A. Sullivan

Presentation of Honorary Degree Candidate Mariana Newton
Erskine B. Bowles, Doctor of Laws

Reading of Citation and Conferring of Honorary Degree
Patricia A. Sullivan

Hooding of Honorary Degree Recipient
A. Edward Uprichard, Provost

Presentation of Degree Candidates
A. Edward Uprichard

Graduate Degrees Brad Bartel
Dean of the Graduate School

Recognition of New Master's Degrees
Brad Bartel, representing UNCG;
Carolyn Meyers, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
and Thoyd Melton, Dean of Graduate Studies,
representing North Carolina A & T State University

Baccalaureate Degrees
Academic Deans
for the College of Arts and Sciences, Walter H. Beale
for the Joseph M. Bryan School of Business and Economics, James K. Weeks
for the School of Education, David G. Armstrong
for the School of Health and Human Performance, Robert W. Christina
for the School of Human Environmental Sciences, Helen A. Shaw
for the School of Music, Arthur R. Tollefson
for the School of Nursing, Lynne G. Pearcey

Tassel Turning Ceremony
Katherine J. Shugart
President of the Class of 2000

Presentation of Students Graduating with Honors
A. Edward Uprichard

Concluding Remarks
Patricia A. Sullivan

The Alma Mater
We raise our voices, let them swell
In a chorus loud and strong;
The rolling hills send back the sound
Of our triumphant song.
For in one great unbroken band
With loyal hearts and true,
Your sons and daughters stand and sing
University, to you.

Audrey F. Womack

Ringing of the University Bell
Saralou Debnam Caliri, for the Class of 1950
and Katherine J. Shugart, for the Class of 2000

The University Commencement Band

Other Program Participants

Chief Marshal
Susan Marie Wall

Assistant Chief Marshal
Kimberly L. Miller

Assistant Chief Marshal
Maria Elizabeth Tuazon

Interpreter for the Hearing Impaired
Michelle M. Stack