Effective Fall 2010, undergraduate students seeking a baccalaureate degree at UNC Greensboro will be subject to a 50 percent tuition surcharge as required by the North Carolina General Statute Section 9.10.(b) § 116-143.7. Session Law 2009-451. No surcharge will be imposed on any student who exceeds the degree credit hour limits within the equivalent of four academic years of regular term enrollment, or within five years of regular term enrollment in a degree program officially designated by the Board of Governors as a five-year program. UNCG has no five-year undergraduate programs approved by the Board of Governors.
Counted Credit Hours
The undergraduate credit hours to be counted for this requirement include:
- all regular fall and spring session degree-creditable courses taken at UNC Greensboro including repeated courses and failed courses; and
- all transfer credit hours from UNC System schools and North Carolina Community Colleges.
However, the following credit hours shall be excluded from the calculation:
- those earned through the College Board's Advanced Placement (AP) and College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or similar programs;
- those earned through institutional advanced placement, course validation, or any similar procedure for awarding course credit;
- those earned through the summer session;
- transfer credit from institutions other than the UNC System schools and North Carolina Community Colleges;
- credit earned while enrolled as a high school student; and
- credit associated with courses officially dropped by the student consistent with UNCG policy.
Students Subject to the Surcharge
The surcharge should be imposed on all counted credit hours in excess of the threshold defined below for each of the following three categories of undergraduates:
- For students earning a first baccalaureate degree in a program that requires no more than 128 credit hours, the surcharge shall be applied to all counted credit hours in excess of 140.
- For students earning a first baccalaureate degree in a board-approved program that requires more than 128 counted credit hours, the surcharge shall be applied to all credit hours that exceed 110 percent of the credit hours required for the degree. Such programs include those that have been officially designated by the Board of Governors as five-year programs, as well as those involving double majors, or combined bachelor's/master's degrees.
- For students earning a baccalaureate degree other than their first, the surcharge shall be applied to all counted credit hours that exceed 110 percent of the minimum additional credit hours needed to earn the additional baccalaureate degree.
The surcharge will be imposed in the fall or spring semester and in all subsequent semesters where a student’s cumulative credit hour total exceeds the threshold. The surcharge does not apply to required fees.
If a student receives a North Carolina Student Incentive Grant and is billed tuition surcharge, the student may become ineligible for funds.
Students will be informed of the Tuition Surcharge Hours earned each semester and cumulatively in their tuition billing.
Students may contact the University Registrar’s Office for their current semester hour information.
Students may request a waiver for military service obligation, serious medical debilitation, disability, or other extraordinary hardship, as defined under BOG 1000.1.5 [R].