Prestigious Phi Beta Kappa welcomes 55 Spartan initiates

Posted on April 22, 2019

Photo of the PBK initiates standing outside the Weatherspoon

Photo of the PBK initiates standing outside the WeatherspoonPhi Beta Kappa’s initiation ceremony for new members was held Monday, April 15.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and one of the most prestigious honor societies in the United States for liberal arts undergraduates. Established in 1934, UNCG’s Epsilon chapter is just one of seven Phi Beta Kappa chapters in North Carolina. It and was recognized in 2006 by the national society as the nation’s most outstanding chapter.

Now, UNCG’s chapter of PBK has inducted a new group of 55 exemplary UNCG students.

The ceremony, held in the Weatherspoon Art Museum Auditorium, featured Dr. Stan Meiburg, Director of Graduate Programs in Sustainability at Wake Forest University. He presented the lecture “Wisdom and the Sustainable Life.”

Provost Dana Dunn was presented with an honorary membership to Phi Beta Kappa, in recognition of her support of and excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.

The in-state inductees and their hometowns are:

Alamance County: Jessica Rebecca Lewis Miller (Burlington)

Buncombe County: Eliza Rosebrock (Asheville)

Caswell County: Evan Bradner (Blanch)

Cherokee County: Lily Eliza Beaster (Murphy), Caitlin Clement (Murphy)

Edgecombe County: David Jamal Webb (Rocky Mount)

Forsyth County: Kyle Eric Bays (Lewisville), Alexis Jane Brunnert (Kernersville), Mr. Peyton Carver Hammed (Kernersville), Rebecca Martinez (Kernersville)

Guilford County: Michael J. Bell (Greensboro), Mr. David Lawrence Blackman (High Point), John Mark Bracewell, Jr. (Oak Ridge), Walter Combs (Stokesdale), Matthew Edwards (Greensboro), Ayesha Ejaz (Jamestown), Madeline Cecilia Galliano (Greensboro), Skye Michelle Harrelson (Greensboro), Mr. Jonathan Andrew Harris (Greensboro), Sufiya Sheikuna Hassan (Greensboro), Melissa Hensch (Stokesdale), Mr. Ibeabuchi Iloghalu (Greensboro), Manead Khin (Greensboro), Miss Brenna R. Koss (Greensboro), Morgan Eliza Lathery (Greensboro), Shelby Kay Dearborn Lentz (Greensboro), Mr. Daniel McLaughlin (Greensboro), Abigail Panz (Greensboro), Miss Hannah Snow (High Point), Amy Elizabeth Stanton (Greensboro), David John Von Dohlen (High Point), Mrs. Virginia Owens Wheeler-Truhe (High Point)

Halifax County: Monique Williams (Roanoke Rapids)

Henderson County: Kaitlyn Rose Farina (Hendersonville), Sarah Ezzat Kasem (Hendersonville), MaryKent Renee Wolff (Fletcher)

Iredell County: T. Brandon Purcell (Statesville)

Johnston County: Olivia Rose Biro (Clayton)

Mecklenburg County: Anitra Celeste Harris (Charlotte), Jeremy Munden (Charlotte)

Pitt County: Shayla Lee (Greenville)

Rockingham County: Elizabeth Padgett Robertson (Reidsville)

Wake County: Talita Ahmed (Cary), Mr. Nicholas Jack Chambers (Wake Forest), Ms. Carolina Elizabeth Galdi (Apex), Arielle Smallwood (Cary), Mr. Alexander Williams (Morrisville)

Yancey County: Brandon L. King (Burnsville)

Out-of-state inductees are:

Arizona: Sarah L. Banks (Litchfield Park)

Colorado: Kayley Rae Tucker (Littleton)

Georgia: Miss Abigail Elizabeth Klima (Dallas)

Maryland: Trevor Richardson (Street)

Ohio: Ruth Anne Michelle Robinson (Caldwell)

Pennsylvania: Mrs. Tracy Probst Bowman (Annville)

Virginia: Megan Amber Saunders (Ashburn)

Edited by Avery Campbell. Photography by Jiyoung Park.


Share This